Policy Press
Subject Banner

Bristol Studies in East Asian International Relations

Series Editors: Yongjin Zhang, Professor of International Politics, University of Bristol, UK, Shogo Suzuki, Senior Lecturer in Chinese Politics, University of Manchester, UK and Peter Kristensen, Associate Professor in International Relations, University of Copenhagen, Denmark.

The Bristol Studies in East Asian International Relations series from Bristol University Press combines original research and theoretical innovation to provide fresh insight into the changing international politics of East Asia and into International Relations theory.

East Asia is now arguably the most dynamic and consequential region in world politics, not least because of the rise of China. As a key driver of global growth, East Asia has generated a shift in power dynamics, which accompanied by the increasing strategic rivalry between the United States and China has created new challenges for governing the regional – and global – political economy.

The series will publish cutting-edge research on the changing international politics of East Asia. It will cover the security dynamics, political economy, causes of conflict and cooperation, and the ongoing transformation of the region, as well as the impact of such transformation on the wider global order.

In welcoming theoretically informed and innovative works derived from rich insights across Asia that shed light on key disciplinary debates through critical investigations of practices and ideas, the series will play an important role in developing IR as a truly global discipline.

For more information sign up to our subject newsletter.

Download the series flyer here.

If you would like to submit a proposal, or would like to discuss ideas, please email series editor Yongjin Zhang – Yongjin.Zhang@bristol.ac.uk

Download the proposal guidelines here.

EAIR International Advisory Board (in alphabetical order):

  • Amitav Acharya, American University, Washington D.C., U.S.A
  • Mark Beeson, University of Western Australia, Australia
  • Barry Buzan, London School of Economics, UK
  • Zhimin Chen, Fudan University, Shanghai, China
  • Ja Ian Chong, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Paul Evans, University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Rosemary Foot, Oxford University, UK
  • Evelyn Goh, Australian National University, Australia
  • Linus Hagström, Swedish Defense University, Sweden
  • Miwa Hirono, Ritsumeikan University, Kyoto, Japan
  • Yuichi Hosoya, Keio University, Japan
  • Weixing Hu, University of Macau, China
  • Xiaoming Huang, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
  • Christopher R. Hughes, London School of Economics, UK
  • Yang Jiang, Danish Institute for International Studies, Denmark
  • Hun Joon Kim, Korea University, South Korea
  • Jing Men, College of Europe, Belgium
  • Nele Noesselt, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany
  • John Ravenhill, University of Waterloo, Canada
  • Masayuki Tadokoro, Keio University, Japan
  • Yu-Shan Wu, National University of Taiwan, Taiwan