Policy Press

Sign up for 25% off all books

Rubber ducks in a row with one apart


Book Industry Communication(BIC) Basic Award with ONIX 3.0 Badge and Digital Tick 2022

A BIC Product Data Excellence Award for the provision of accurate and timely product information. BIC facilitates UK & Global book industry wide collaboration to reach agreement on dependable standards in the supply chain. Find out more

2021 Division of Policing Outstanding Book Award

Ross Deuchar, Vaughn Crichlow and Seth Fallik, Police–Community Relations in Times of Crisis: Decay and Reform in the Post-Ferguson Era

The Outstanding Book in Policing Award recognizes a monograph (not a textbook, anthology, oredited volume) published in the last three calendar years. The award honors a text that deserves recognition due to its significant empirical,theoretical, or policy-relevant contributions to the field. Find out more

The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction (longlisted)

Eben Kirksey, The Mutant Project: Inside the Global Race to Genetically Modify Humans

The Baillie Gifford Prize rewards excellence in non-fiction writing, bringing the best in intelligent reflection on the world to new readers. It covers all non-fiction in the areas of current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts. Find out more

British Academy Peter Townsend Prize Winner 2021

John Stewart, Richard Titmuss: A Commitment to Welfare

The Peter Townsend Prize is awarded biennially for outstanding work with policy relevance on a topic to which Townsend made a major contribution. Find out more

GSA Richard Kalish Innovative Publication Award 2021

Sandra Torres, Ethnicity and Old Age

This award recognizes insightful and innovative publications on aging and life course development in the behavioral and social sciences in two categories: (1) Book Category and (2) Article Category. Find out more

BSA Philip Abrams Memorial Prize Awards 2021 (shortlisted)

Vicki Dabrowski, Austerity, Women and the Role of the State and Patricia Hamilton, Black Mothers and Attachment Parenting

The BSA Philip Abrams Memorial Prize is for the best first and sole-authored book within the discipline of Sociology. Find out more

Society for Social Work and Research 2021 Book Award

Michal Krumer-Nevo, Radical Hope

The Society for Social and Work Research (SSWR) Book Award is awarded every year and seeks to recognize outstanding social work contributions that advance knowledge with direct applications to practice, policy, and the resolution of social problems.

Bertha Lutz Award 2020

Torild Skard, author of Women of Power, was awarded the Bertha Lutz Award for research on women in diplomacy, jointly presented by the ISA and the SOAS centre for diplomacy.

Independent Publishers Guild Academic and Professional Publisher of the Year 2020 (shortlisted) and the Independent Publishers Guild Marketing Award 2020 (shortlisted)

Find out more about the IPG awards here.

University Press Redux Sustainability Award 2020 (shortlisted) 

Find out more.

Web Marketing Association Best Publishing Website Award 2019

Find out more.

BIC Product Data Excellence Award 2019

We are pleased to announce that we have achieved the BIC Basic award with a Digital Tick.

ASPIRE Accessibility Awards 2019

We are proud to receive Highly Commended in the ASPIRE Accessibility Awards 2019, awarded by JISC.

The Working-class Studies Association Jake Ryan Book Award 2018 winner

Diane Reay, Miseducation: Inequality, education and the working classes

This new award has been created by the Working-class Studies Association to honour a publication from the previous two years that speaks to issues of importance to the working-class academic experience.

Skystone Partners Prize for Research on Fundraising and Philanthropy Winner 2018

Beth Breeze, The new fundraisers: Who organises charitable giving in contemporary society?

Each year, the AFP Research Council awards the Skystone Partners Prize for Research to the author of a book that contributes substantially to the knowledge and understanding of fundraising or philanthropic behavior.

Choice Outstanding Academic Title Winner January 2018

Shirley Hill, Inequality and African-American Health

Every year Choice publishes a list of Outstanding Academic Titles reviewed during the previous calendar year. This prestigious list reflects the best in scholarly titles reviewed by Choice and contains approximately ten percent of some 6,000 works reviewed each year.

The Bookseller top 100 most influential people in the book trade 2017

Alison Shaw, Policy Press and Bristol University Press CEO. 

‘I am absolutely thrilled that the development of Bristol University Press has been recognised in this way. To be included alongside the leading names in the industry is somewhat overwhelming. Our job now is to deliver on the great potential of the Press’.

An annual list produced by the industry magazine The Bookseller recognizing influence and leadership across a wide range of publishers, retailers, authors and members of the media. Shaw was one of only eight scholarly publishers on the list and Bristol is the only University Press outside of Oxford and Cambridge to have been included.

British Academy Peter Townsend Prize Winner 2017

Kayleigh Garthwaite, Hunger pains: Life inside foodbank Britain

This prize is awarded biennially for outstanding work with policy relevance on a topic to which Townsend made a major contribution.

IPG Awards 2016

Frankfurt Book Fair Academic & Professional Publisher of the Year

The judges said: "Policy Press had a standout year in 2015, publishing a range of important, influential and well-reviewed books, experimenting with activities including short reads, apps and freemium content and hitting record turnover. It has increased sales and stepped up its publishing in a difficult market, and that takes a lot of nerve. It really punches above its weight."

The British Book Industry Awards

Shortlisted for the Bookseller Academic, Educational & Professional Publisher of the Year 2016

This award is for those who specialise in academic, educational or professional publishing; or specialist divisions within larger publishers.

2015 British Academy Peter Townsend Prize

Why we can’t afford the rich by Andrew Sayer.

Choice Outstanding Academic Title 2015 award

Women of power by Torild Skard.


BSA Philip Abrams Memorial Prize 2014

Negotiating cohesion, inequality and change by Hannah Jones.


Socio-legal Studies Association prize 2014

Alcohol and moral regulation by Henry Yeomans.


British Academy Peter Townsend prize Winner 2013

Poverty and insecurity by Tracy Shildrick, Robert Macdonald, Colin Webster, Kayleigh Garthwaite.