Policy Press
Subject Banner

Gender, Sexuality and Global Politics

Series Editors: Ali Bilgic, Loughborough University, UK, Synne L. Dyvik, University of Sussex, UK, Gunhild Hoogensen Gjørv, UiT The Arctic University of Norway, Norway Thomas Gregory, The University of Auckland, New Zealand and Swati Parashar, University of Gothenburg, Sweden

Expanding the boundaries of international relations, this series reflects on politics globally with innovative and transdisciplinary perspectives.

With a focus on feminist, lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans and queer activism, the series critically examines existing hierarchies, practices and power relations in global politics, investigating the often violent effects of these on different peoples, geographies and histories. In doing so, it enables new ways of thinking about and doing politics globally beyond the exclusionary and oppressing dichotomies that have come to dominate this field.

The series aims to showcase work that addresses:

  • Feminist theory: research that challenges the traditional scope of global politics through feminist, non-hegemonic perspectives, interrogating dominant and hierarchal discourses
  • Queer theory: work that broadens the analyses of IR through the exploration of gay, lesbian, bisexual, and trans narratives
  • Transdisciplinary and intersectional research: diverse work that is interdisciplinary and intersectional by nature
  • Transformative and critical approaches: innovative research that reimagines the epistemological and ontological frameworks of IR, through methods that reconceptualize the practice and future of global politics
  • Non-Western and post-colonial theory: research that decentres existing theorising in IR and explores non-Western perspectives and approaches, particularly from the Global South

If you would like to submit a proposal or to discuss ideas please email Stephen Wenham: s.wenham@bristol.ac.uk.

International Editorial Board

Linda Åhäll, University of Gothenburg, Sweden
Terrell Carver, University of Bristol, UK
Shine Choi, Massey University, New Zealand
Bina D'Costa, Australian National University, Australia
Paula Drumond, O Instituto de Relações Internacionais PUC-Rio, Brazil
Cynthia Enloe, Clark University, US
Des Gasper, Erasmus University, Netherlands
Inanna Hamati-Ataya, University of Cambridge, UK
Catarina Kinnvall, Lund University, Sweden
Rauna Kuokkanen, University of Lapland, Finland
Peace Medie, University of Ghana, Ghana
Annie Paul, University of the West Indies, Jamaica
Manuela Picq, Amherst College, US
Vicki Squire, University of Warwick, UK
Cemal Burak Tansel, University of Sheffield, UK
Maria Tanyag, Australian National University, Australia
Cai Wilkinson, Deakin University, Australia