Policy Press

Publishing with Purpose


Bristol University Press, and its imprint Policy Press, is a department in the Faculty of Social Sciences and Law at the University of Bristol, one of the most ambitious and forward-thinking universities within the UK Russell Group. The University regularly features in the top performing UK institutions:

  • A top 10 UK university (QS Rankings 2019)
  • A top 4 UK university with leading employers (High Fliers 2018)
  • A top 5 UK university for research (THE analysis of REF 2014)

The investment in developing Bristol University Press reflects the University of Bristol’s commitment to create and disseminate the highest-quality academic research and to collaborate and engage globally, helping turn world-leading research into world-changing results.

Bristol Univeristy Press Editorial Board

The BUP Editorial Board ensures that all publications in the Bristol University Press lists represent that overarching vision. Each month Editorial Board members consider, review and approve all publishing proposals presented by the Press for contract. This ensures that all publishing conforms to strict quality guidelines.

The Board comprises highly respected academics based at the University of Bristol, who bring both their subject expertise and broad interest in scholarly communications. Currently the Editorial Board meet as a group on a quarterly basis and members are:

Isabella Aboderin, Professor of Gerontology, Chair in Africa Research and Partnerships, and Director of the Perivoli Africa Research Centre, School of Policy Studies
Tim Cole, Professor of Social History and Director of the Brigstow Institute, Department of History, School of Humanities
Joanne Conaghan, Professor of Law, University of Bristol Law School
Esther Dermott, Professor of Sociology and Head of School for Policy Studies
Susan Halford, Professor of Sociology and Co-Director of the Bristol Digital Futures Institute, School of Sociology, Politics and International Studies
Christina Pantazis, Professor of Zemiology, School for Policy Studies 
Susan Parnell,  Chair in Human Geography and Global Challenges Professor of Human Geography School of Geographical Sciences
Judith Squires, Professor of Political Theory and Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost
Andrew Sturdy, Professor of Organisation and Management, School of Economics, Finance and Management
Deborah Wilson, Professor of Public Policy and Management and Faculty Research Director for the Faculty of Social Sciences and Law (Chair)

Business Advisory Board

Bristol University Press, and its imprint Policy Press, has a dynamic and ambitious growth strategy. To advise on stategic developments, a Business Advisory Board was established in 2002 taking over from the previous Management Advisory Board. This expert team meet on a six-monthly basis to review the financial position of the business, provide input on policy decisions and advise on progress according to the annual business commitments made to the University.  Current Business Advisory Board members are:

Ivon Asquith, formerly Managing Director, Oxford University Press and Non-Executive Chair Edinburgh University Press (Chair)
Jaime Marshall, Marshall Publishing Consultancy, formerly Managing Director, Palgrave Macmillan Higher Education
Simon Tormey, Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences and Law, University of Bristol
Paddy Ireland, Professor of Law, University of Bristol
Tim Rose, Finance Director for the Faculty of Social Sciences and Law, University of Bristol
Deborah Wilson, Research Director for the Faculty of Social Sciences and Law, University of Bristol


Bristol University Press is proud to partner with the following organisations:

Association of University Presses logoALPSP logoPublishers Association logoIndependent Publishers Guild logo

Day-to-day management of Bristol University Press and Policy Press

Alison Shaw is the Chief Executive, responsible for the strategic development and day-to-day management of the Press, in collaboration with the Senior Management Team who comprise:
Andy Williams, Operations Director
Jo Greig, Sales and Marketing Director
Julia Mortimer, Journals and Open Access Director
Victoria Pittman, Head of Commissioning
Supported by Sarah Breaux, Senior Executive Assistant