Publishing with a purpose

Series Banner   Spaces of peace conflict and security

Spaces of Peace, Security and Development series

Series editors: John Heathershaw, University of Exeter, UK; Shahar Hameiri, University of Queensland, Australia; Jana Hönke, Groningen University, the Netherlands; and Sara Koopman, Kent State University, USA

Peace, security and development are normative goods and empirical domains which are connected in theory and practice. The concept of space links these domains and is increasingly utilised in their study across a range of disciplines. This is due to the growing recognition that processes of peace, security and development do not neatly correspond to a territorialised demarcation of the world into nation-states. Spaces of Peace, Security and Development provides an interdisciplinary home for spatially based studies from scholars from a range of backgrounds, but in particular those who engage with one or more of: Area Studies, International Relations, Human Geography and Political Anthropology.

The series publishes research that moves away from purely abstract debates about concepts and focuses instead on fieldwork-based studies of specific places and peoples. It shows how particular spatial histories and geographic configurations can foster or hinder peace, security and development. It also encourages work that takes account of the new spatialities of conflict and charts the transnational practices of peace, security and development.

The series welcomes research monographs that empirically or interpretatively test theoretical propositions, as well as edited collections that debate key theoretical, methodological and ethical questions.

Call for proposals

If you would like to submit a proposal, or would like to discuss ideas, please email Stephen Wenham at Bristol University Press:

Download the series flyer here.

Download the proposal guidelines here.

Spaces of Peace, Security and Development International Advisory Board (in alphabetical order):

  • Rita Abrahamsen, University of Ottawa, Canada
  • John Agnew,University of California, Los Angeles, USA
  • Alima Bissenova,Nazabaev University, Kazakhstan
  • Annika Björkdahl, University of Lund, Sweden
  • Berit Bliesemann, University of Aberystwyth, UK
  • Susanne Buckley-Zistel, Philipps University Marburg, Germany
  • Toby Carroll, City University, Hong Kong
  • Mick Dumper, University of Exeter, UK
  • Azra Hromadžić, Syracuse University, USA
  • Lee Jones, Queen Mary University of London, UK
  • Louisa Lombard,Yale University, USA
  • Virginie Mamadouh,University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Nick Megoran, University of Newcastle, UK
  • Markus-Michael Müller, Free University Berlin, Germany
  • Daniel Neep, Georgetown University, USA
  • Diana Ojeda, Xavierian University, Colombia
  • Jenny Peterson, University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Madeleine Reeves, University of Manchester, UK
  • Conrad Schetter, Free University Berlin, Germany
  • Ricardo Soares de Olivera, University of Oxford, UK
  • Diana Suhardiman, International Water Management Institute (IWMI), Laos
  • Arlene Tickner, Del Rosario University, Colombia
  • Jacqui True, Monash University, Australia
  • Sofía Zaragocín, Universidad San Francisco, Quito, Ecuador